Originally the members of the Common- wealth of Nations were the United Kingdom and its self-governing Dominions. The term "British Commonwealth" began to be used after World War I. In 1949 the name was changed to the Commonwealth and in 1965 the Commonwealth Secretariat in London was established. A total of 54 independent countries from all parts of the world belong to the Commonwealth. The flag displays the letter "C" (as the first letter of "Commonwealth") which encircles a central globe, denoting the global scope of the organization. The number of lines forming the letter "C" does not correspond to the number of member-states.